killofest.blogg.se

Em dash on keyboard without numpad
Em dash on keyboard without numpad













  1. #EM DASH ON KEYBOARD WITHOUT NUMPAD HOW TO#
  2. #EM DASH ON KEYBOARD WITHOUT NUMPAD SOFTWARE#

but it involves the Hatsune Miku vocaloid, and a certain song.) I'm using the « and » to enclose blocks that were literally spoken as written, when in an environment where it is not the native language, but I also have to use characters native to those languages. There is also one example of Finnish, and it comes from a Japanese character. My story (two books to date) has a long story behind it, but suffice to say that while it takes place in Japan and in English-speaking countries, both Spanish and French are spoken and had to be rendered untranslated, as the character who was POV at the time could not understand those languages. I can never remember the one for ñ, for whatever reason, and it's probably the one I have to use the most. I use é enough to know its code by memory, ç likewise. It's a nice thought, but that isn't the only set of characters I use that is foreign to U.S. a single keypress for «» and then placing the cursor between both characters. Regarding particularly « and », instead of having Alt on your keypad you could (that's what I've myself done) program a key with Alt+0171 Alt-0187 left, i.e.

em dash on keyboard without numpad

Kbdfr wrote: ↑The old problem: you guys want your keyboards as small as possible with as many keys as possible. The real laptop has a real tenkey, so I never saw the problem before.

em dash on keyboard without numpad

I used Charmap because I rarely write anything significant on the Aspire One. InB4 "how did you do it on your Aspire One": I didn't. I've gone the brute force route for now, and added an Alt key to the dedicated keypad, but now this means having to pull BOTH hands out of position to type those characters, which is entirely against what I was trying to accomplish in the first place. I can't be the first to figure out this problem. So how are all you 60% and 75%ers accessing the infrequently used but necessary characters that pop up in your lives? Surely you must have dealt with this. just produces a tap of the Alt key and a string of numbers. Apparently even on a 104-key keyboard, the way Alt+0171 was generating « was some sort of overlay, and hitting Alt on one keyboard and typing numbers on a second. No problem, I'll just use an external number pad!

#EM DASH ON KEYBOARD WITHOUT NUMPAD SOFTWARE#

The problem is, I use it, often to generate infrequently used characters that aren't on my layout like « and » (because I have been using these to represent text that is NOT translated in an environment where almost everything IS being translated) and the em-dash (which even board software doesn't particularly like).

#EM DASH ON KEYBOARD WITHOUT NUMPAD HOW TO#

In the course of trying to figure out how to pare back from bog-standard 104-key keyboards, I knew the number pad was the most frequent target.















Em dash on keyboard without numpad